Griffith University Skeptics and Freethinkers

The biggest disappearance since Harold Hold???

In Uncategorized on March 19, 2010 at 1:05 PM

Hi everyone! I thought I perhaps owed an explanation for my seemingly mysterious disappearance, despite my having no doubts whatsoever that any rumored explanation would be entirely rational in nature 🙂

When last most of you saw/heard from me I was ridiculously over loaded with responsibilities not limited to parenting and working, studying etc and when the work and shared custody situation etc got more complicated, my studies and this group suddenly went from being my top priorities to a distant memory, a luxury even.

I did definitely feel like I dropped of the face of the earth, suddenly forced to use all of my time on endeavors that weren’t at all what I had enjoyed and that seemed hopeless for a long time.

Anyway that all (for the most part) is behind me and things have improved more dramatically than anything Shakespeare (or Francis Bacon?) ever came up with. With ongoing mediation finally started my parenting responsibilities are in tact and I’m no longer at risk of losing access to my daughter (which was threatened by her mother but it turns out was never legally possible…phew). The Friday before this semester started I enrolled in this semester and consequently am back at Griffith, back working towards my Bachelor of Psychological Science and back at the Gold Coast campus (three days a week)!

I’m split between the Nathan and Mt Gravatt campuses on Mondays and Tuesdays, then here on the Coast for the rest of the week. I’m finally taking Martin Bridgstock’s class at Nathan, “Skepticism, Science and the Paranormal” and not surprisingly am really enjoying it! I’m writing a paper on “Can Education solve the “Problem” of widespread paranormal belief” which is my seminar topic I’ll publish it after its marked etc. My research so far has found some really interesting and unexpected implications.

Anyway I really just wanted to let you all know I’m ok, and let you all know you are very much appreciated and well done for everything that has been accomplished in my absence! Kylie Sturgess has a new podcast which is awesome! The Skeptic Zone is still great and betters every episode! There are heaps of new podcasts which are all great and well worth listening to if your even slightly interested and no, I STILL don’t have an iPod…
It seems Atheism was this months buzz word which has led to some interesting conversations. Oh and a huge thank you thank you, thank you to Steph Gilmore for taking over the on-campus duties of the GUSSF, not easy is it,? But you survived so well done and I really, really appreciate it and I’m sure everyone else does as well. Unfortunately/fortunately I’ve finally figured out that I have great difficulty doing things by halves and my time is greatly taken up by my responsibilities to my family and my studies, not leaving enough time /energy to fully participate in group activities this semester. Saying that, I’d be happy to help out if anyone wants to take over this semester and carry the group for a couple of months. At this stage I can definitely take place in off campus stuff, just when I’m on campus I really have to be studying this semester.

However if we all want to make the most of this break to come back bigger and better than ever next semester then that’s great news to me! I would love to get everything started up again next semester, it’s really just a matter of whether anyone wants any activities this semester It’s a trade off for future skepticism, but definitely a worthwhile one so let me know your thoughts, preferences and such. Next semester I’m thinking of starting a few different and fun as on campus activities but I can definitely not do it alone so I’m going to need all the help I can get. If anyone thinks this group is a worthwhile enterprise let me know, and just as importantly let other people know. Spread the word, diversify the audience and so on and so forth Anyway thank you for reading my waffling, I’ll try to post here weekly at the most and hope I’m not the only one 😀

Jayson D Cooke

Leave a Reply

